Fire Chief

About the Fire Chief, Ray Isom

Chief Isom is a second-generation firefighter who began his career in 1996 in his hometown of Ennis, Texas. In 2004, Mr. Isom became a Deputy with the Texas State Fire Marshal’s Office in Austin, Texas. During this time, he oversaw fire prevention for all state-owned facilities while working on several high-profile arson and bomb cases. He was also involved in coastal relief efforts in the aftermath of Hurricanes Katrina and Rita.

Ray joined the Allen Fire Department in 2008 as a Fire Prevention Specialist. While there, he worked on countless new construction projects, arson investigations, and assisted with the city’s Emergency Management efforts.

Chief Isom is a certified Master Firefighter, commissioned Master Peace Officer, and an Emergency Medical Technician. He is certified in the disciplines of Arson Investigator, Fire Inspector, Plans Reviewer, Fire Officer, Driver/Operator/Aerial, Incident Safety Officer, Fire Service Instructor, and Law Enforcement Instructor. Mr. Isom was professionally recognized as a Certified Fire Protection Specialist through the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) in 2005. He has also completed the nation’s only Fire Executive Management Training program through the Bill Blackwood Law Enforcement Management Institute of Texas (LEMIT) located on the campus of Sam Houston State University. Additionally, he is nationally credentialed as a Chief Fire Officer and Fire Marshal through the Center for Public Safety Excellence (CFPE). Ray also holds a General Class FCC Amateur Radio License.

Mr. Isom is a 2001 graduate of Oklahoma State University and holds a B.S Degree in Psychology with a minor in Fire Protection. He earned his Master’s Degree in Public Affairs from the University of Texas at Dallas in 2015.

Ray is married to his wife, Lola, and they have two wonderful children. In his spare time, he enjoys listening to music, playing guitar, outdoor adventures, and the pursuit of wisdom. Chief Isom joined the Anna Fire Department in 2017.